A new governance structure for the Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) was introduced in April 2015 to comply with the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and included the requirement for administering authorities to establish local pension boards.

Derbyshire Pension Board consists of 2 scheme member representatives and 2 scheme employer representatives together with a non-voting independent chair.

Independent chair

  • Ronald Graham

Member representatives

  • Karen Gurney
  • Nick Read (trade union nomination)

Employer representatives

  • Oliver Fishburn (Bolsover District Council and North East Derbyshire District Council)
  • Neil Calvert (The Northworthy Trust and the University of Derby)

Board meetings

The board meets 4 times a year and its role is to assist the administering authority to ensure the effective and efficient governance and administration of the LGPS, including:

  • securing compliance with the LGPS regulations and any other legislation relating to the governance and administration of the scheme
  • securing compliance with any requirements imposed by the Pensions Regulator in relation to the scheme

Officers of the council attend pension board meetings to provide advice and support.

The latest Derbyshire Pension Board annual report is attached to this page.

Contacting the board

Should you have any queries relating to the Pension Board or would like a matter discussed at their next meeting, please email: pension.board@derbyshire.gov.uk

Please note that Derbyshire Pension Board are not able to discuss personal matters, individual cases or grievances. However, all matters concerning the governance of the fund and its policies with regard to investments and administration, are welcome.

Find out how you can submit an individual complaint or grievance.